Author Opens Up About Creating a Sprawling Literary Metaverse

Author Opens Up About Creating a Sprawling Literary Metaverse

In an interview, the author of “A Court of Thorns and Roses” discusses developing a vast literary metaverse, the most recent “Crescent City” novel, and future projects.

Exciting news awaits fans of Sarah J. Mass from the romantic author of BookTok’s #1 book, “A Court of Thorns and Roses.”

Her most recent book, “House of Flame and Shadow,” the third in her “Crescent City” series, was just released, but she is already working on several other projects.

What do they consist of? When will they be arriving? In a sit-down interview with Jenna Bush Hager, she revealed specifics.

“ACOTAR” will be Sarah J. Maas’ upcoming book

In addition to the three books she previously had under contract, Maas inked a new four-book agreement when her Bloomsbury publishers announced “House of Flame and Shadow” in 2023.

Maas revealed that she had plotted out her next four books during her discussion with Jenna. They are positioned in what she referred to as a “taxiing position.”

She stated that “House of Flame and Shadow” will be followed by a book set in the same universe as “A Court of Thorns and Roses.”

Maas told Jenna, “I’m very, very excited about that one.” My understanding of what’s going on in this one is far greater. And then I have the concepts and broad, hazy thoughts for the following book in that series.

Additionally, Sarah said she usually enjoys going on those emotional trips with the characters and the technical aspects of writing.

As “ACOTAR,” it stands for “A Court of Thorns and Roses,” and there are currently five volumes in the series:

  • “A Court of Thorns and Roses” (2015)
  • “A Court of Mist and Fury” (2016)
  • “A Court of Wings and Ruin” (2017)
  • “A Court of Frost and Starlight” (2018)
  • “A Court of Silver Flames” (2021)

Maas withheld the title and publication date of the upcoming “ACOTAR” novel. However, readers will have to wait for a year or two, as she recently released “House of Flame and Shadow.”

Maas published “A Court of Silver Flames” in 2021 and “House of Sky and Breath,” the second “Crescent City” book, in 2022, before “House of Flame and Shadow.”

What plans does Sarah J. Maas have after the “ACOTAR” book?

Thus, we are aware that Maas’ “taxiing queue” will soon include a new “ACOTAR” book. Regarding the subsequent one, Maas stated she was also set for that.

I’m thrilled about the book I’m going to be writing after this next ‘ACOTAR’ book. I won’t reveal which universe it is in.

Sarah said she wouldn’t say anything. Writing this book is going to be incredibly emotional for me, both because of the environment I’ll be creating and the characters that may appear.

Although what the next “ACOTAR” book is about is not yet known to the public, readers could speculate: while the most recent novel, “A Court of Silver Flames,” followed Feyre’s sister Nesta and her relationship with Rhysand’s companion, Cassian. The previous four books chronicled the exploits of heroine Feyre Archeron and her love story with Rhysand.

Image credits: Shutterstock, CC images, Midjourney, Unsplash.